When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

download (1)

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream so that one day a hundred years from now another sister will not have to dry her tears wondering where in history she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.---from the publisher

256 pages                                          978-0062912619                           Ages 14 and up

Keywords:  women, immigration, trauma, sexual assault, rape, resilience, healing, empowerment, love, poetry, Punjabi, diversity, diverse books, teen pregnancy, colorism, high school, novel in verse, 14 year old, 15 year old, 16 year old, 17 year old, 18 year old, South Asian, South Asian culture

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account