Turtle Walk

turtle walk

Need a lift?  Maybe you are lucky enough to work with young children and you'll get to introduce an early reader to the fun waiting here.  Maybe you just need to pick up something that is simple, delightful, and joyful...because you need to see and experience something that is simple, delightful and joyful.  (I think Matt Phelan knew we needed this right now.)

So gather up some simple sight words, about 16 of them, and set a turtle family loose in their natural world on a trek through the changing of the seasons.  They are headed out.  Going somewhere slowly as a turtle family can.  Where are they going?  What IS going to happen to them?

Gentle happy green turtles all lined up and making their way in the world just as nature intended them to do.  How reassuring!  Through the rain, past the swing set, beyond the warm colors of a tree in the fall sunshine. And then...

This is an adventure.  This is joy waiting to explode off the page!

For our beginning readers this is treasure.  When they get to the end of the story,  they'll want to go on the journey one more time....one more time... one more time.

32 pages                  978-0062934130                      Ages 3-7

Keywords:  turtles, beginning reader, nature, seasons, fun, 3 year old, 4 year old, 5 year old, 6 year old, 7 year old

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

***********

Turtle walk. Nice and slow. Here we go!

Explore all four seasons with this charming—and patient!—turtle family. Award-winning author-artist Matt Phelan guides the youngest readers from the first blooms of spring and the scorching sun of summer to the crisp leaves of fall and fat snowflakes of winter. Fans of Anna Dewdney and Tad Hills will want to go on this journey again and again.

Spring blooms, and a turtle family is on the move. Slow and steady, they travel up, up, up, the gentle hill through all four seasons. Where are they going? To the top of the sledding hill, of course! But how will they get back down the hill to a well-deserved winter’s rest?

Matt Phelan’s simple, rhythmic text is filled with repetition that shines in read-alouds, and his soft, colorful watercolor artwork bring the seasons to vivid life. The joyful journey and gentle, rewarding surprise make Turtle Walk a timeless choice for every home and classroom.---from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account