Suggested Reading

Updated
download (9)

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of Moxie, a bookworm finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

Clara Evans is horrified when she discovers her principal’s “prohibited media” hit list. The iconic books on the list have been pulled from the library and aren’t allowed anywhere on the school’s premises. Students caught with the contraband will be sternly punished.

Many of these stories have changed Clara’s life, so she’s not going to sit back and watch while her draconian principal abuses his power. She’s going to strike back.

So Clara starts an underground library in her locker, doing a shady trade in titles like Speak and The Chocolate War. But when one of the books she loves most is connected to a tragedy she never saw coming, Clara’s forced to face her role in it.

Will she be able to make peace with her conflicting feelings, or is fighting for this noble cause too tough for her to bear?---from the publisher

400 pages                                  978-0062685254                               Ages  13 and up

Keywords:  censorship, social activist, reading, books, school, school issues,  library, feelings, choices, values, power, 13 year old, 14 year old, 15 year old, literature, high school, Tennessee, social class

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!