Sorry For Your Loss

 
0.0 (0)
21   0
36137535

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner.

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. He lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he’s in no hurry to decide on a college path.

The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won’t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, “sorry for your loss.”

When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he’d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose.

And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.--from the publisher

336 pages               978-0062571915            Ages 14 and up  (Grades 9 and up)

Keywords: loss, brother, death, grieving, coming of age, family, healing, art, finding yourself, photography, teacher, friendship, immigrants, LGBTQ

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account?
Ratings
Rating
1 Star—'It was OK.' 2 Stars—'I like it.' 3 Stars—'I LOVE it!'
Comments