Past Perfect Life

PPL

Taco Tuesday. Every Tuesday night Ally and her father sit down for good food and good company..each other.  Life is comfortable and predictable.  Ally is deep in writing her college applications and hoping she can get the scholarships to give her enough financial aid to afford college next year at University of Wisconsin Green Bay.  At school she hangs out with her usual crowd of Gleason cousins whose family basically runs the town as sheriff, school principal, and then there's Neil, the guy who makes Ally's adrenalin start to rush.  A pretty typical high school senior year coming down to the big finish with prom and graduation.

And then.... and then Ally sends off three college applications and has messages in her inbox from all three that her applications have been instantly rejected because her social security number is wrong.  Ally's stress gets even worse.  She heads to school to her counselor for help.

It doesn't take long until help arrives.  As Ally looks out the window of her house, she notices Sheriff Gleason and a woman with the letters F, B, and I printed on her jacket, standing in Ally's driveway.  What has Dad done now?

Handcuffs.  Dad disappearing with the law enforcement officers.  Ally's world is turning upside down.  Turns out her name isn't Allison Smith.  Her hasn't had her birthday yet even though she just celebrated.  Her mother isn't dead.

There are plenty of kids who wish they had different parents and who wish they belonged somewhere else.  This is that dream turned into a nightmare.  Who is Ally?  What did her father do?  Where is she supposed to live now?  What happens to her life as she has always known it?

This is an emotional journey story.  Who are you when they take your :"family" and friends and all your dreams away?

336 pages          978-1547600922           Ages 13 and up

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

******************

An exciting new direction for acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg, Past Perfect Life is a tense and tender read about secrets and lies, reality and identity, and the ways we put ourselves back together when everything is broken.

Small-town Wisconsin high school senior Allison Smith loves her life the way it is--spending quality time with her widowed father and her tight-knit circle of friends, including best friend Marian and maybe-more-than-friends Neil. Sure she is stressed out about college applications . . . who wouldn't be? In a few short months, everything's going to change, big time.

But when Ally files her applications, they send up a red flag . . . because she's not Allison Smith. And Ally's--make that Amanda's--ordinary life is suddenly blown apart. Was everything before a lie? Who will she be after? And what will she do as now comes crashing down around her?

Perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, this is the story of one teen's search for herself amid the confusion of a shattered past and a future far from all she planned.--from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account