Loveable Lyle

3334149  love.jpg

Book Information

Illustrator
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 1977 (First published in 1969)
Curriculum
Character-Building Curriculum

A crocodile...receiving hate mail.  What?  Yes, it's true.  Not everyone thinks Lyle is so loveable.  One day he gets a mysterious note that reads, "I hate you. I hate you more than anything."  How would you feel?

Turns out Clover Sue Hipple thinks Lyle has stolen all of her friends.  She doesn't really know Lyle at all.  Turns out that when you get to know a crocodile, he can be a pretty good friend to have.

Important book to read to children to begin a discussion about racism or prejudice or judging a book by its cover.  Also a conversation starter about being a hero.  Who is your hero?  Why?  Is Lyle a hero?

978-0395253786      Ages 4-7       48 pages

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

Other titles in the series: Lyle, Lyle Crocodile; Lyle Finds His Mother; Lyle Walks the Dogs; Lyle and the Birthday Party; Funny, Funny Lyle; Lyle at the Office

Author read-alikes:  John Burningham; William Steig; Bill Peet

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account