It All Comes Down to This

 
0.0 (0)
19   0
rsz_43261130

t’s 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she’s the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky.

There’s also her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought.

Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.--from the publisher

368 pages                    978-0544839571                    Ages 10-13

Keywords:  growing up, African American, American history, racism, prejudice, discrimination, diverse books, diversity, acceptance, accepting others, neighborhood, social activism, social justice, relationships, family, parents, summer, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, 13 year old

Read alike:  P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account?
Ratings
Rating
1 Star—'It was OK.' 2 Stars—'I like it.' 3 Stars—'I LOVE it!'
Comments