Firegirl

9780316011709_p0_v3_s550x406

A poignant novel about a boy's friendship with a burn victim is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder.

From the moment Jessica arrives, life is never quite the same for Tom and his seventh-grade classmates. Jessica was badly burned in a fire, and will be attending St. Catherine's while getting medical treatments.

Despite Jessica's shocking appearance and the fear she evokes in him and most of the class, Tom slowly develops a tentative friendship with Jessica that changes his life in just a short amount of time.

Firegirl is a powerful book that will show readers that even the smallest of gestures can have a profound impact on someone's life.--from the publisher

160 pages                 978-0316011709                   Ages 10-13
Keywords:  middle school, burns, new experiences, friendship, friends, acceptance, accepting others, fitting in, belonging, being yourself, being included, kindness, emotional intelligence, Middle School Book Club 7, Character Building Curriculum, 10 year olds, 11 year olds, 12 year olds, 13 year olds

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account