Dress Like a Girl

9780062798923_p0_v1_s550x406

Have you heard all the rules about what to wear when?  Do you know when to pull out the crisp white suit or the flowing black gown?

This delightful diverse group of friends - all girls-gathered for a slumber party,  are exploring the possibilities of what it means to be a girl and dress for it.  A great trip into the potential careers that girls can aspire to partnered with a twist on the world of fashion that will fit every future occasion.

"On hot summer days the look is crisp white on land or at sea or on along flight.   White is a look you can manage with grace as you soar in a rocket ship through outer space!"

These girls imagine all the things they can grow up to do and to be and they know just what to wear - could be red or maybe blue.  The rules have changed and the fashion explosion has begun.  Dress like a girl means finding your own style in clothes and careers.

Times have changed and the old definitions and rules about what it means to be girl are gone.  This is a fun celebration of all the different "outfits" that await every girl.

32 pages                                  978-0062798923                           Ages 4-8

Keywords:  gender roles, clothing, fashion, rules, change, dreams, identity, gender expression, careers, 4 year old, 5 year old, 6 year old, 7 year old, individuality, gender identity, finding yourself, fun, gender identity, self acceptance, self image, self esteem, self confidence, emotional intelligence, being yourself, women, Character Building Curriculum, Social Studies Curriculum, empowerment, encouragement, diverse books, diversity, Read aloud to three year olds, four year olds, five year olds, six year olds

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

*************

A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!

In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?

Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!

What does it mean to dress like a girl?

Many will tell you in this big, wide world

that there are strict rules that must be addressed,

rules you will need when looking your best.

But when you are given these rules to obey,

the secret is heeding them—in your own way.---from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account