Clean Getaway

download (2)

William, or as he is known to his G'ma, Scoob, has hit bottom.  He's suspended from school, no trip to the islands for spring break and his father is more distant and disapproving than ever.  So, when his G'ma rolls up in her RV and tells him to get in, they're going on a road trip, his suitcase is packed and he is ready to roll.

The RV is amazing and his G'ma is his favorite person in the world.  He'll go anywhere with her and he knows it will be a great time.  And it is ... at least for a while.

G'ma, it turns out, is retracing the stops of a trip through the South.  Her trusted copy of the Green Book is now in the hands of Scoob and they are hopscotching from one RV park to another through the states of Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas .....

The trip is about history.  Scoob is looking at the path of the Civil Rights movement with all its struggles and tragedies at the same time he is witnessing the places where his grandparents stopped on the road trip they took years back.

Odd things start to happen.  G'ma is changing the license plate on the back of the RV.  Scoob hears her at night groaning and moaning and calling out in her sleep.

Bit and pieces of the past are starting to swirl around Scoob and are making him uneasy and anxious.  What's really happening?  Where is G'ma taking him and who is this person he has known all his life?

One part history lesson, one part father/son struggles and one part accepting others at their worst.  This is about a boy who is finding his place in the world that isn't always perfect or accepting of him.

Nic Stone has written a thought-provoking story about accepting the imperfect in ourselves, in the people we love and in the world around us.   This one sneaks up on you and sends you reeling.  What are you willing to accept?

240 pages                                              978-1984892973                           Ages 9-13

Keywords: road trip, acceptance, accepting others, grandmother, multigenerational, prejudice, racism, American history, Green Book, African American, African American author, mistakes, stealing, thief, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, regrets

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

*******************

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:   Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.   Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.   Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:   A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account