City Spies, Book 1

download

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called “a must-read,” Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies—perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls.

Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI6 agency.

Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they’re not attending the local boarding school, they’re honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can’t.

Before she knows what she’s doing, Sarah is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school’s computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain…

No one said saving the world was easy…---from the publisher

********************

Where do you belong?  What do you believe in?

Five kids who have fought  injustice in their own worlds are about to find themselves in a new school in Scotland where they will be trained as MI6 agents- a la Bond, James Bond.

Foster care hasn't been any kind of picnic for Sara Martinez.  So, when the fake lawyer sits down beside her and says he'll be arguing her case before the judge she goes ahead and takes a chance on him.  Risk - it's the name of the game.

Sara could never have foreseen that she was about to be on the way to Scotland with a man who she will now  call "Mother" to fill the new vacancy on a team of MI6 spies who happen to be kids.

Her initiation into the world of espionage begins in the airport when they land at Edinburgh.  The other team members have skipped school to get a look at her without her seeing them.  They have no idea who they are up against.

This is a very special team comprised of amazingly gifted kids who have been discovered and plucked out of some tough situations to face the enemy on a global stage.

This new mission is time sensitive so  Sara's read on asap.  She's on the team because she's proven herself as a hacking genius.  Now, she and her cohort will be heading to Paris for a global summit for youth on the environment.  The summit will include a competition between teams of kids and this MI6 team will compete but they'll have to be sure they don't win.

Their real mission is to hack into a server that's held in an impenetrable fortress to ...well, basically to save the world.

A team filled with geniuses who happen to be kids, an enemy who has massive resources and the gift of anonymity, and someone who wants to unleash death on the world - that's pretty all they have to do today.

International intrigue anyone?   Betrayal, teamwork and astonishing kids who have discovered they can count on themselves?   Facing your worst fear with the clock ticking?

A mix of action/adventure, brain puzzles, smart kids, the possibility of belonging, and making a difference in the world on the international stage - 007 had to train somewhere, right?

384 pages                      978-1534414914                           Ages 9-13

Keywords: spies, espionage, teamwork, danger, working together, hacking, diversity diverse books, belonging, finding yourself, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, 13 year old, Scotland, boarding school, computers, part of a series,  thriller, mystery, adventure

Read alikes: Spy School series by Stuart Gibbs; Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation by Stuart Gibbs; Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls; Cherub Series; H.I.V.E. series, Alex Rider series

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

 

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account