Boyfriends with Girlfriends

Boyfriends with Girlfriends

Sanchez tells the story of four teenagers on a quest for self-identity. Allie loves spending time with her best friend Lance, who is gay but has never been in a steady relationship. When he meets Sergio, there is a definite connection between the two. However Lance is not willing to accept Sergio’s bisexuality, and Sergio is uncomfortable with Lance’s inexperience.

When Allie agrees to tag along on their first date, she meets Sergio’s best friend Kimiko and they immediately form a bond. Although Allie has a serious boyfriend and considers herself straight, she begins to question her own urges and impulses. As the four of them deal with their individual problems, including coming out to their parents and being honest with each other and themselves, they begin to see the danger in allowing labels to dictate their choices.

Teenagers familiar with meticulous over analysis of every phone call, text, and rendezvous will appreciate the conversations between best friends in this honest portrayal of dilemmas experienced by gay teens. Recommeded for fans of Green and Levithan’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson or Levithan’s Boy Meets Boy.

224 pages           978-1416937753       Ages 12 and up

Keywords:  LGBTQ

Recommended by Carrie Shaurette, Librarian

 

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account