Arlo and Pips Book 1: King of the Birds

king of the birds

Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who’s not afraid to tell him when he’s being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.---from the publisher

64 pages                          978-0062982216                        Ages 6-10

Keywords:  graphic novel, crow, birds, information, humor, friends, friendship, 6 year old, 7 year old, 8 year old, 9 year old, 10 year old, part of a series

****************

"On the highest mountains, in the deepest forests, in the whole universe, no bird is greater than Arlo."   At least so thinks Arlo, a crow who thinks very highly of himself.  Arlo has just met Pips, a small yellow bird who isn't exactly convinced that Arlo is the king of birds. After all, Pip can think of a lot prettier birds and birds who are better singers, and ......

Arlo is not to be denied.  He launches into his best song and then starts honking like a car.

Told in three chapters this story of two birds, one with a larger brain than the other, getting to know each other and finding themselves off on some great bird adventures.

The humor flits through the story and occasionally offers up a nugget of great info about crows.  Turns out they just might have something to brag about.  Great fun!

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account