American Royals

download royals

Book Information

Reader Personality Type
Publisher
andom House Books for Young Readers September 2019

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince's heart. This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her.

And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded--and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.---from the publisher

448 pages                                          978-1984830173                               Ages  14-19

Keywords:  romance, sex and dating, betrayal, brothers and sisters, royalty, gay and lesbian, Latinx, diverse books, diversity, 14 year old, 15 year old, 16 year old, alternate history, duty, intrigue, twin

*************

Princess Beatrice has to be perfect.  It's her duty to her country to learn all the rules, to speak four languages, to memorize the royal etiquette for any situation.  It's keep a stiff upper lip time.  Meanwhile her younger brother and sister, twins, Jeff and Samantha, are the spares.  They're not destined for the crown so who are they really?  What does life hold for them?

In a matter of weeks life takes some unexpected twists for all three of the royal siblings.  Beatrice realizes she's falling in love with her royal guard, Connor.  Sam finds herself in a closet making out with Teddy Eaton - the young man who is on the short list, the really short list, of young men eligible to marry Beatrice and be her consort.  Jeff returns to Nina, the commoner, and asks her to give him another chance.

In the shadow of the American crown all three siblings struggle to find their voices, to find their purpose and to allow themselves to fall in love whether it's the "right" thing to do or not.  Passion and duty clash.

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

Sequel: Majesty

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account