Triumphant Tale of Pippa North

triumphant tale of pippa north

An enchanting, clever, and whimsical fairy tale sure to charm fans of Adam Gidwitz and Shannon Hale.

In the storybook kingdom of Wanderly, everyone wants to be a Triumphant: the kingdom’s most glorious heroes. Everyone except Pippa North, who is quite happy with her perfectly common family.

No one in Wanderly wants to be a magician, would-be villains who are nothing more than nuisances. But Oliver Dash wants it more than anything in the world.

When Pippa is swept away to the Triumphant academy, and Oliver finds himself in danger of flunking out as a magician, a wayward wish puts them on opposite ends of a villainous scheme—and plunges Pippa into an adventure that will make the whole kingdom ask what it really means to be a hero.

Full of humor, magic, and heart, this Triumphant adventure is a stand-alone companion to The Tragical Tale of Birdie Bloom, which bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff called “the most charming book, footnotes and all!”---from the publisher

416 pages                                978-0062835864                        Ages 8-12

Keywords:  fairy tale, school, magic, kingdom, hero, finding yourself, adventure, humor, feelings, 8 year old, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, companion book

*******************

Very charming fantasy for readers who enjoyed Yep and Ryder's A Dragon's Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans or Yolen's Wizard's Hall, but who aren't quite ready for Townsend's The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #1).

So many readers want to imagine that THEY could attend a school for magic even if they can't quite do any themselves, so they will love to read about Pippa's adventures. It's a little young for my school, so I will pass on purchase, but this would be great for elementary libraries or middle school ones where fantasy adventures are popular.

Recommended by:  Karen Yingling, Librarian, Ohio USA

See more of her recommendations at:  msyinglingreads.blogspot.com

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account