Civil War of Amos Abernathy The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

civil war of amos abernathy

A heartfelt debut novel about a boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Dear Sweet Pea and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Amos Abernathy lives for history. Literally. He’s been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history: someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and LGBTQ+ community will delight readers of Ashley Herring Blake, Alex Gino, or Maulik Pancholy. ---from the publisher

304 pages 978-0063119864 Ages 9-13

Keywords: finding yourself, LGBTQ, American history, transgender, letters, journal, epistolary, standing up for yourself, If You Liked George, If You Liked Melissa, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, 13 year old, 19th century, crush, first love, humor

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!