Scary Stories for Young Foxes

download

A Newbery Honor Recipient Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.---from the publisher

320 pages                      978-1250181428                       Ages 9-12

Keywords:  horror, abuse, fear, suspense, creepy, scary, zombies, ghosts, survival, foxes, friendship, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, families, disabilities, animal abuse, monsters, foxes

Editor's Note:  Sensitive readers who care deeply for animals may be uncomfortable reading this title. Also, readers may have a difficult time reading about the abuse one character with a disability experiences from his family.

"Dark and skillfully distressing, this is a story for the bold."―Kirkus

For more information: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/christian-mckay-heidicker/scary-stories-for-young-foxes/

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account