Red White and Whole

Featured
red white and whole

2022 Newbery Honor

A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn’t meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma, although their names are linked—Reha means “star” and Punam means “moon”—but they are a universe apart.

Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick.

Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can’t stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She’ll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma’s life.

From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại.---from the publisher

224 pages                                    978-0063047426                               Ages 9-13

Keywords:  novel in verse,  death and dying, mothers/daughters, illness, cultural identity, finding yourself, family, Indian American, girls and women, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, 13 year old

**********

* New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * A Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Year * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best Book of the Year * An NYPL Best Book of the Year * Goodreads Choice Nominee * Junior Library Guild Selection *

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!