Perfectly Norman (Big Bright Feelings series)

Perfectly Norman  (Big Bright Feelings series)

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings! Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly - and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat. But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself? A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman's Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.--from the publisher

32 pages      978-1408880975  Ages 4-8

*******

Norman had always been normal... perfectly normal.  Until one day he grew a pair of wings.

Norman had imagined getting taller and eventually growing a beard but growing a pair of wings? No, he never imagined that.  He tested them out.  Gave them a flap or two to see what they could do and where they might take him.  Then he had to go in for dinner.

This is when it occurred to Norman that he really wasn't sure what his parents would think of his wings.  Would they accept them?  Would they appreciate them?  He wasn't sure at all.  So he hid them.

Beautiful story that will resonate with every child who feels he/she/they are different or have something about them they have to hide.  So great to have a story that will honor them and help them bring those wings out into the light.

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account