Join the Club Maggie Diaz

Featured
Updated
Join the Club Maggie Diaz

This humorous and heartfelt middle-grade debut by Nina Moreno with illustrations by Courtney Lovett is perfect for fans of Celia C. Pérez and Terri Libenson, and any reader still deciding what their passion in life is.

“Maybe I’m good at something I don’t even know about yet.”

Everyone in Maggie Diaz’s life seems to be finding their true passion. The one thing that defines them as a person. Her best friends Zoey and Julian are too busy to hang out after school thanks to band and comics club. Mom is finishing her last semester in college. And Maggie’s perfect older sister Caro is perfectly-perfect at sports and tutoring.

So Maggie cooks up a plan to join every club she can! But trying to fit in with type-A future leaders, gardening whizzes, and the fearless kids in woodshop is intimidating, exhausting, and seriously confusing. And juggling homework, friends, and all of her after-school activities is way harder than it looks.

Seventh grade is all about figuring out who you are – good thing Maggie Diaz has the perfect plan!---from the publisher

240 pages                                      978-1338740615                                 Ages 9-13

Keywords:  middle school, humor, coming of age, finding yourself, girls and women, identity, fitting in, school issues, friends, friendship, Hispanic and Latino, Latina author, If You Liked Meg Medina, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, diversity, diverse books

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!