Invisible A Graphic Novel

Featured
Updated
invisible christina diaz  gonzalez

Imagine the moment you are sitting in class and you hear your name called over the loudspeaker and you are being told to come to the office. Anybody feeling a little bit nervous? Why are they calling you? What have you done? What is going to happen?

That's the kind of day George Rivera is having - or as the loudspeaker pronounced his name- "Hor Hay" is having. He's about to find himself in the office with a group of kids he knows - or does he? Or does anyone really know them?

George has a dream. He wants to go to a magnet school and he knows he has to do everything right so no one can find any reason to keep him from getting there. Turns out though he has not completed all of his community service hours. That one little thing - those hours- are going to drop him into the school cafeteria to do some volunteer work and that's where he meets some other "volunteers" who don't seem to care very much.

This is a story about how we "look" at other people and decide who they are - without actually finding out who they are. It's a story about how easy it can be to decide someone else isn't "as good" as we are. It's also a story about the lives of other people and how hard they can be and how they don't want to show that to other people....even when they need some help to make their life better. Have you read HARBOR ME by Jacqueline Woodson? If you have then you know a little something about how amazing it is when you get to be friends with someone and you are privileged to know their truth.

This is a graphic novel so it flies. But the feelings and the ideas and the truths and the values in these pages deserve time.... lots of time... lots of thinking and deciding time.

Recommended by: Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

********

For fans of Twins and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service... and may just have more in common than they thought.  

Can five overlooked kids make one big difference?

There’s George: the brain

Sara: the loner

Dayara: the tough kid

Nico: the rich kid

And Miguel: the athlete

And they’re stuck together when they’re forced to complete their school’s community service hours. Although they’re sure they have nothing in common with one another, some people see them as all the same . . . just five Spanish-speaking kids.

Then they meet someone who truly needs their help, and they must decide whether they are each willing to expose their own secrets to help . . . or if remaining invisible is the only way to survive middle school.

With text in English and Spanish, Invisible features a groundbreaking format paired with an engaging, accessible, and relatable storyline. This Breakfast Club–inspired story by Christina Diaz Gonzalez, award-winning author of Concealed, and Gabriela Epstein, illustrator of two Baby-Sitters Club graphic novel adaptations, is a must-have graphic novel about unexpected friendships and being seen for who you really are.---from the publisher

208 pages                                  978-1338194548                               Ages 9-12

Keywords:  graphic novel, middle school, Hispanic and Latino, diversity, diverse books, understanding others, If You Liked Harbor Me, friends, friendship, being yourself, self acceptance, helping others, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, Social Emotional Learning SEL

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!