Hatful of Dragons And More Than 13.8 Billion Other Funny Poems (A Hatful of Dragons)

hatful of dragons

Ideal for fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein, this collection of hilarious poems features delicious vocabulary and a wide range of subjects, as well as recurring characters and subplots in the art that weave the poems together and add to the merriment.

This funny poetry book is chockful of unusual characters: panda and pangolin musicians, mail-order eggs that hatch (surprise!) dinosaurs, ten aliens with a garden-gnome pal, a robot uncle, lots and lots of dragons, and a professor who uses his Page Machine to travel to multiple pages within the book.

Vikram Madan's ingenious poems take many forms, from limerick to rebus to a fill-in-the-blank poem that offers more than 13.8 billion funny combinations. All feature clever wordplay, impeccable rhythm and rhyme, and riotous punchlines. This is a quirky collection of poems that readers will laugh their way through again and again.

64 pages                                              978-1-68437-999-6                          Ages 7-13

Keywords:  poetry, humor, fun, poems, wordplay, rhythm, rhyme, animals, dragons, dinosaurs, 7 year old, 8 year old, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, Language Arts Curriculum

About the Author Vikram Madan grew up in India where, despite spending his childhood rhyming and doodling, he ended up an engineer. After many years of working in the tech industry, he finally came to his senses, and here he is, having followed his heart back to rhyming and doodling again! His self-published books of funny poems The Bubble Collector and Lord of the Bubbles both won Moonbeam Awards for Children’s Poetry. He lives near Seattle, Washington, with his family, two guitars, and a few pet peeves, and devotes himself to making whimsical and humorous art.

To learn more about Vikram Madan visit him at: vikrammadan.com

****************

A HATFUL OF DRAGONS is a fun, rhythmic, and sometimes interactive collection of illustrated poems, many of which beg to be read aloud.

“TAXI CRAB

A crabber and a crabby crab

Sat eating cabbage in a cab

When suddenly the crabber grabbed

The cabbage from the crabby crab,

Which made the crab more crabby still--

He snipped and snapped his claws until

The cabbie turned around to blab,

‘No crabbiness inside my cab!

No crabbiness! No grabbiness!

No snipping-snapping jabbiness!

If you two do not curb your rage

I’ll dump you on the seventh page.’”

Sure enough, if you flip back to page 7 of the book, you’ll spot the crab and the crabber, having just been dumped off there by the cabbie. There are a number of times when characters in these poems reappear elsewhere in the book.

There are poems that conclude with page-turner punchlines. A yummy food poem to be sung to the tune of “Jingle Bells.” A choose-from-the-menu fill-in poem. A tongue twister. A concrete poem. And more.

I just learned how to spell ukulele:

“FIFTY UKULELES

I bought fifty ukuleles

At the local flea bazaar

For I wanna, wanna, wanna

Be a ukulele star.

I bought fifty ukuleles

So that I can learn to strum

Like a ukulele master

With a ukulele thumb.

I bought fifty ukuleles

So no matter where I go

I can practice, practice daily

For my ukulele show.

I bought fifty ukuleles

And they barely cost a thing.

Why, oh why, did I not notice

That not one of them has strings?”

A fun book for elementary readers, A HATFUL OF DRAGONS is a nice complement to the classic, illustrated, poetry of Silverstein, Prelutsky, and Dahl.

Recommended by:  Richie Partington, MLIS, California USA

See more of Richie's Picks <http://richiespicks.com/http://richiespicks.pbworks.com

https://www.facebook.com/richiespicks/

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account