Hand Me Down Magic, Book 1: Stoop Sale Treasure

download (2)

Meet the best friends at 86 ½ Twenty-Third Avenue.

DEL loves LOTS of things! The Curious Cousins Secondhand Shoppe. Ginormous family dinners. And of course, her best-friend-cousin, Alma.

ALMA loves her abuelita’s tasty empanadas. Her old home by the lake. And soon, she’ll love living in the same place as her best-friend-cousin, Del.  

Yet despite having Del by her side, Alma isn’t quite sure she fits in with their family at 86 ½ Twenty-Third Avenue. It’s a new life and it’s all so different. When Del finds a special item at a neighbor’s stoop sale, she gets so excited by the magic luck it brings—but doesn’t see that it’s driving the two best friends apart. Will family, friendship, and maybe a little everyday magic be enough to make things right again?

Brimming with adorable illustrations and short, easy-to-read chapters, this is sure to be an instant favorite for fans of Ivy and Bean and Dory Fantasmagory!---from the publisher

128 pages                              978-0062878250                       Ages 6-10

Keywords:  friends, friendship, diversity, diverse books, Latina, family, magic, If You Liked Ivy and Bean, 6 year old, 7 year old, 8 year old, 9 year old, part of a series, Latinx family

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account