Greystone Secrets, Book 1: The Strangers

Featured
 
0.0 (0)
63   0
38251244

The three Greystone kids raced each other home from school like they did everyday. But when Chess, Emma and Finn get through the front door the world turns upside down. Nothing is everyday any more.  Mom is standing in the kitchen with her head down and the words that are coming from her mouth are a waterfall of, "No ,no, no, no..."  Three children in Arizona have been kidnapped.  Those three kids are the same ages as Chess, Emma and Finn and they have the exact same birthdays.  When the kids see the photos, they realize the three kidnapped children look exactly like the three of them.

And we're off.... falling down a rabbit hole that gets more and more dangerous.  Mom disappears and someone saw her with a suitcase full of money.  Before Mom left she arranged for Chess, Emma and Finn to stay with a friend of hers, a Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie,  When will Mom come back?  Where did she go?

Then the weird messages start coming and the kids learn their mother is never coming back.  Can they go to her?  Can they figure out why she had the money?  When they go back to their old house to feed their cat, Rocket, they discover the secret their Mom has been keeping for years.

Brilliantly plotted, this is a tense story that walks toward the edge page by page.  What would you do to get your mother back?  Who could you trust?  How can three children unravel the mystery and the messages to find their way to the new truth in their lives?

Delicious mystery and suspense.  Great for kids who want something a little dark and a lot smart.

416 pages     978-0062838377          Ages 8-12

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

****************

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.--from the publisher

416 pages            978-0062838377        Ages 8-12

Reviews:

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account?
Ratings
Rating
1 Star—'It was OK.' 2 Stars—'I like it.' 3 Stars—'I LOVE it!'
Comments