Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

The first in a series of books about the Pepper family, these imaginative children's stories have delighted readers since their original publication in 1881. This first novel introduces Ben, Polly, Joel, Davie, and Phronsie, the children of their widowed Mamsie, Mrs. Pepper. While very poor, the Peppers live in a supportive little town in their beloved Little Brown House. The family faces many challenges, such as sickness and an overflowing generosity stinted by their financial straits, yet they accept and overcome many obstacles with an optimism and good-naturedness that is as surprising as it is commendable. When little Phronsie is later placed in great danger, the Peppers meet young Jasper King, who will ultimately change their fates and lead them to the unexpected conclusion of the novel. This heartwarming tale is a testament to perseverance in the face of hardship, incorruptible kindness, and the power of family love that conveys a message well worth learning to this day.--from the publisher

420 pages       978-1557095916  (Hardcover full version)    Ages 8-12

160 pages          978-1402754203 (abridged version in the Classic Starts series published by Sterling)          Ages 8-12


This children's classic, first published in 1881, which tells the story of the widowed Mrs. Pepper and her five children-Ben, Polly, David, Joel, and Phronsie, continues to resonate with readers today. Without being saccharine, the book reveals the true value of family. When the children, or Five Little Peppers as they are known in Badgertown, wish they could afford a special birthday celebration for their mother, Mamsie, she says, with a smile like a flash of sunshine, "I don't want any other celebration . . . than to look around on you all. I'm rich now, and that's a fact." This is the first in a series of books about the inhabitants of the Little Brown House.--from the publisher


“To help mother”: that was the goal of each and every one of the five Pepper children. Yet even as “Mamsie” struggles hard to feed and educate her brood, she still manages to fill the house with joy. The adventures of this poor but loving family—Ben, Polly, Joel, Davie, and the adored youngest, Phronsie—have charmed young readers for more than a century. Overflowing with warmth, suspense, and many delightful surprises, this classic remains as compelling as ever.

Other titles in this series:

2.  Five Little Peppers Midway;  3.  Five Little Peppers Grown Up;  4.  Phronsie Pepper;  5.  The Stories Polly Pepper Told To The Five Little Peppers In The LittleBrown House;  6.  The Adventures of Joel Pepper;  7.  Five Little Peppers Abroad; 8.  Five Little Peppers At School;  9.  Five Little Peppers and Their Friends;  10.  Ben Pepper;  11.  Five Little Peppers in the Little Brown House; 12.  Our Davie Pepper

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account