Endling: The Last (Endling, Book 1)

Featured
 
0.0 (0)
880   0
Endling: The Last  (Endling, Book 1)

It was only a few minutes to cross the meadow, following the scent.  Only a moment or two and Byx would never be missed.  You can feel the danger waiting.  That thing that changes the world forever is about to appear.  Will it be for the best or for the worst?

Byx is a dairne, rare in this world, hunted nearly to extinction for their exceptionally soft fur and one of the six governing species in this world.  The dairne population is dwindling.  Byx overheard her parents and she knows there is talk that there might be more dairne in the north.  No one knows for sure.  But during the time it takes Byx to offer help to a wobbyk named Tobble, caught in the surf and looking hopeless, her world is destroyed.  When she returns to her camp, humans in silver and red are destroying every living dairne and burning their homes.  Her mother, her father and all of her brothers and sisters are in a heap, bloodied, broken and gone.

Murdano's soldiers have waged war against a peaceful, small group of dairnes with the clear intention of erasing them from the world.  As Byx surveys the destruction, a swift blow to her head sends her crashing to the ground, unconscious. She awakens to find herself slung across the back of a horse and held captive by a young boy.  Tobble has abandoned her and it looks like she's being taken for her fur.

Is it possible that Byx could be an endling, the very last dairne left in the world?  Why would anyone want to destroy all of her kind?

In a world filled with intrigue and ambition, Byx, Tobble, and a new ally, Khara, journey to meet Ferru, a powerful man, who may be able to  offer Byx protection.  Three memorable friends, each with her/his own agenda, are summoning their courage and their hope willing to take the chance that they are facing betrayal, danger and possibly death.

Characters you care about, enemies you despise, and a quest that reaches the farthest limits of what it means to safeguard and treasure the creatures who share our planet Earth. This story is intended to spark awareness of what we stand to lose if we do not act as caretakers for all of the animals and plants that inhabit our world. It is up to us to see to it that we never again find ourselves with an endling, lest it be ourselves.

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

*********

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such as The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland. --from the publisher  

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account?
Ratings
Rating
1 Star—'It was OK.' 2 Stars—'I like it.' 3 Stars—'I LOVE it!'
Comments