Emmy in the Key of Code

download  emmy

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material—and Abigail, a new friend—through a shared language: music.

But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn’t being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn’t a wrong note, but a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.---from the publisher

416 pages                                        978-0358040828                                   Ages 10-12

Keywords:  coding, music, new experiences, new school, fitting in, friendship, friend, honesty, belonging, finding yourself, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, computers, technology, novel in verse, programming, understanding others, diversity, trauma, helping others, identity, individuality, middle school, STEM

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account