Degenerates (The Degenerates)

download (1)

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up by a world that took the poor, the disabled, the marginalized—and institutionalized them for life.

The Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded is not a happy place. The young women who are already there certainly don’t think so.

Not Maxine, who is doing everything she can to protect her younger sister Rose in an institution where vicious attendants and bullying older girls treat them as the morons, imbeciles, and idiots the doctors have deemed them to be.

Not Alice, either, who was left there when her brother couldn’t bring himself to support a sister with a club foot.

And not London, who has just been dragged there from the best foster situation she’s ever had, thanks to one unexpected, life altering moment. Each girl is determined to change her fate, no matter what it takes.---from the publisher

288 pages                                          978-1534419353                         Ages 14-18

Keywords:  historical fiction, women, institutions, mental health, mental illness, bullying, family, prejudice, hope, shame, 14 year old, 15 year old, 16 year old, LGBTQ, Indigenous people, people with disabilities, social issues, social commentary, social conditions, Social Studies Curriculum

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account