• Fantasy
  • Dark Is Rising, Book 1: Over Sea, Under Stone

Dark Is Rising, Book 1: Over Sea, Under Stone

Dark Is Rising, Book 1:  Over Sea, Under Stone

Here is one of the premiere fantasy series of our time, on the shelf well before the Harry Potter phenomenon, and a work that gave fantasy the reputation of being some of the best children's literature written for some of the best and brightest young readers. Meet the Drew children, Simon, Jane and Barney. They are about to find a map which will lead them deep into a suspenseful plot filled with danger as the Dark is now rising and someone has to stand between it and us. According to Arthurian legend, there is a grail that will offer great power for defending the great good. Beautifully written and deeply evocative. A story that reaches into a child's mind and spirit to probe the questions and fears that lie within. Just plain top notch! Among the sequels to this book are The Grey King, Silver On the Tree, The Greenwitch and The Dark Is Rising.

288 pages 978-1442495920 Ages 9-13


On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that -- the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril. This is the first volume of Susan Cooper's brilliant and absorbing fantasy sequence known as The Dark Is Rising.--from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!