Cat Kid Comic Club Book 1

cat kid comic club

A pioneering new graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the author and illustrator of the internationally bestselling Dog Man and Captain Underpants series.

In Cat Kid Comic Club, Li'l Petey, Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented baby frogs to the art of comic making. As the story unwinds with mishaps and hilarity, readers get to see the progress, mistakes, and improvements that come with practice and persistence.

Squid Kid and KatydidBaby Frog SquadMonster Cheese Sandwich, and Birds Flowers Trees: A Haiku Photo Comic are just some of the mini-comics that are included as stories-within-the-story, each done in a different style, utilizing humor and drama, prose and poetry, illustrated in different media including acrylics, pastels, colored pencils, felt-tip markers, clay, hand-made cardboard sculptures, photographs, pipe cleaners, construction paper collages, and cookies.

Readers of all ages will be inspired to dream up their own stories and unleash their own creativity as they dive into this new graphic novel adventure from Dav Pilkey and his heartfelt, humorous, and amazing cast of characters in the Cat Kid Comic Club.---from the publisher

176 pages                                    978-1338712766                     Ages 7-10

Keywords:  graphic novel, comics, humor, cats, frogs, how to, creativity, books, part of a series, 7 year old, 8 year old, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, reluctant reader, reluctant listener

*********

Young readers who are fans of the Dog Man books will be delighted with this spinoff featuring Cat Kid, Li'l Petey. Along with Molly, vice-president of the Cat Kid Comic Club, Li'l Petey does his best to help a group of baby frogs create their own comics. Each time the club meets, readers are able to read the mini-comics created by the club members. Whether they are about a toothbrush who wants to grow up and be a lawyer for dinosaurs, or a "cute little fluffy cloud of death," the stories are sure to make young readers laugh - while also showing them that comics and other illustrated texts can be about any subject that interests them and can have a wide variety of artistic and writing styles.

Don't be surprised if readers laugh their way through the book, but then begin creating comics of their own and sharing them (or collaborating on them) with friends. Hand this to kiddos who enjoy graphic novels and illustrated books in the vein of Dog Man, Big Nate, and Captain Underpants. Teachers and librarians will recognize many of the situations they encounter when trying to help students with projects. There are arguments over everyone's roles in the club, disparagement of the plots of various comics that are created, and of course the frogs' father objects to violence and crude humor in the stories his kids are creating.

Recommended by: Suzanne Costner, Librarian, Tennessee USA

See more of her recommendations: https://fveslibrary.blogspot.com/

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account