Between You Me and the Honeybees

between you me and the honeybees

Looking for a great beach read?  Don't need to solve the problems of the world but would like to drop in on the story of a girl - a shy girl - a girl who takes anxiety medication and who loves bees - honeybees.  Yep, here ya go.  This one is right on the money.

Josie Hazeldine comes from generations of beekeepers. Her family knows a thing or two about bees and they are determined that this year they are going to win the Royal Jelly award.  Winning means having the satisfaction of beating the pants off those Blumsteins... the horrible Blumsteins - nothing to love there....or is there?

Josie is graduating from high school the day we meet her and she has a secret.  Her mother is thrilled that in the fall Josie will be attending Golden State University - going to college - her mother's dream.  She told Josie she had to apply to colleges.  Josie did what she was told - she applied.  Nobody said she had to go to college, right?

This summer is going to change Josie's life a couple of times.  She's going to meet a guy - a great guy - and she's going to find herself.  She's going to find out she CAN stand on her own without her best friend.

The romance gets pretty steamy and yes, there is sex.  The friendship and the mother/daughter relationship take some deep dives.  But the girl...the girl is being given the chance to know herself and believe in herself.... so sit back, relax, put the sunglasses on, grab the beverage and settle in ...it's a sweet, sweet ride... dare I say kinda like honey? A hint of Romeo and Juliet and boatload of romance.

368 pages 9781534453005 Ages 14 and up (sex and F word)

Keywords: coming of age, bees, girls and women, secrets, mother/daughter, finding yourself, finding your voice, believing in yourself, summer, romance, sex, dating

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

********

Perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett and Sarah Dessen, this swoon-worthy novel follows a teen girl during her California summer of beekeeping, secrets, and stolen kisses.

Josie Hazeldine has just graduated from high school, and she’s ready for a summer full of sunshine, beekeeping, and…lying to her mom.

Josie’s mom couldn’t be more proud of her daughter going to college, something she never got to do. But Josie wants to stay in her California hometown and take over the family business, Hazeldine Honey. So that college acceptance her mom is thrilled about? Yeah, Josie turned it down. But she’s going to come clean—just not yet.

The neighbor’s artsy, adorable grandson who’s in town for the summer makes Josie’s web of lies even more tangled. He’s into Josie and the feeling is very mutual, but he’s a Blumstein—the sworn enemy of the Hazeldines and their number one competition in the annual Honey Show at the end of July. As their secret fling goes on, Josie knows she’s getting in way too deep to leave him behind when summer’s over.

Can Josie keep the boy she can’t stop thinking about without the secrets she’s juggling crashing down around her? ---from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account