• Non-Fiction
  • Astronomer Who Questioned Everything The Story of Maria Mitchell

Astronomer Who Questioned Everything The Story of Maria Mitchell

Updated
astronomer who questioned everything

Perfect for fans of STEM, this inspiring picture book biography tells the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell. Maria longed to travel beyond her small island of Nantucket. But she wasn't sure how. Her father taught her to look to the stars for guidance. If you knew how to read them, he said, the stars could tell you where you were, and where you needed to go. They spent hours scanning the night sky together through a telescope on the roof. Maria learned how to use astronomers' tools to measure and track time by the stars. But what could she do with her skills? Then, one day, she heard that a prize was being offered to the first person to find a new comet. Could this be the opportunity she was waiting for?

This absorbing picture book biography by Laura Alary tells the fascinating, though not well-known, story of a remarkable nineteenth-century woman scientist and women's rights advocate. After winning that prize for discovering a comet, Maria Mitchell would go on to become the first professional female astronomer in the United States, first female member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and one of the first female college professors. Beautifully illustrated with lovely textured artwork by Ellen Rooney, this is a well-told story with a teachable STEM component, supporting both science and social studies curriculums, that supports a growth mindset. It's also a wonderful guide sure to inspire readers to find their own way in the world. It includes backmatter that further describes Maria's impressive life and achievements.---from the publisher

36 pages                                    978-1525303487                                     Ages 5-9

Keywords:  biography, women, scientist, astronomy, STEM, women's history, 5 year old, 6 year old, 7 year old, 8 year old, 9 year old, Science Curriculum, informational picture book

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!