Usual Suspects

9780062796318_p0_v1_s550x406

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, separated from the “normal” kids at school who don’t have any “issues.” That’s enough to make all the teachers and students look at him and his friends with a constant side-eye. (Although his disruptive antics and pranks have given him a rep too.)

When a gun is found at a neighborhood hangout, Thelonius and his pals become instant suspects. Thelonius may be guilty of pulling crazy stunts at school, but a criminal? T isn’t about to let that label stick.---from the publisher

288 pages                                  978-0062796318                            Ages 9-13

Keywords:  middle school, gun, mystery, friends, African American, diversity, diverse books, labels, reputation, special ed, individuality, self image, self reliance, self esteem, injustice, 9 year old, 10 year old, 11 year old, 12 year old, 13 year old, prejudice, racism

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account