Thick As Thieves (Queen's Thief, Book 5)

8306741.jpg

When you see a book with Megan Whalen Turner's name on it, you know you've got gold.  Her stories are truly epic.

Kamet, slave to Nahuseresh who is brother to the king, has just been beaten again.  When his master failed to be appointed governor of Hemsha, he released his anger on the slave who meant the most to him..the slave he has taught to read and write and manage his accounts.  Kamet is a powerful man in his own right but he and his future ride on the whims and loyalties of this man who chooses involved intrigue at the highest levels.

As Kamet makes his way through his duties in the passages of the palace, he is suddenly stopped by a man he does not know.  From his speech and appearance the man must be from Attolia ... a place where most likely Kamet's master is not welcome.  Yet this man quietly urges Kamet to meet him at the docks the next day at an appointed time.

The next day in the palace back paths Kamet learns that his master has been poisoned and the most likely murderer is the man's own brother or at least one of his loyal henchmen.   It is custom to kill the slaves of a man as powerful as Nahuseresh.  Kamet knows time is of the essence and finds the nearest way out of the palace and beyond the walls of this land.

Here is where the journey begins.  The man from Attolia and Kamet are about to create an escape for Kamet and build a harrowing journey to a land where Kamet yet may not be safe.  As they navigate the deserts, the bands of slavers, the thieves and the mountains, the two men test their mettle, explore their capacity for loyalty, negotiate the social roles and look to their own motivations and sources of self-worth.

As the journey unfolds, each adventure adds more and more layers to the phenomenal world-building and you'll find yourself putting together a mental map of where the rivers flow, where the mountains rise and where the safest ports might lie.  What begins as a connection built on lies and evasion, slowly evolves in the direction of friendship, pride and deep respect.

Obstacle after obstacle is thrown in their path and brute strength won't win the day every time.  This is craftsmanship.  This is brilliantly imagined human beings with agendas and motivations, jealousies and needs for revenge.

For those who enjoy a story well told, masterful world-building and characters who stumble a bit as they summon their courage and their wits, this will be a phenomenal joy savored and re-read time and time again.

978-0062568243  336 pages  Ages 13 and up   (violence)

Recommended by:  Barb Langridge, abookandahug.com

*******

Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deceptionPerfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen’s Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companion stories The ThiefThe Queen of AttoliaThe King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. Thick as Thieves includes two maps, a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of Kamet’s journey.

“The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

"Megan Whalen Turner has constructed a clever world filled with suspense and intrigue and characters that will never be forgotten. Once you dive into the world of the Queen's Thief, prepare to have your life stolen from you until you finish them all." —Joelle Charbonneau, New York Times-bestselling author of the Testing trilogy."   ----from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!
Already have an account? or Create an account