The Tattooist of Auschwitz Young Adult Edition

Updated
tattooist of auschwitz  young adult edition

Young Adult edition - including new foreword and Q+A by the author plus further additional material

The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and The Diary of Anne Frank

Heart-breaking - a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz Human - the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust - the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms Inspirational - the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances Unforgettable - a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared Life-affirming - one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved Fully verified - Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence

The Story

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.---from the publisher

********* In April 1942, Lale Sokolov wa transported by cattle train to Auschwitz- Birkenau, imprisoned, as were millions of others, for being born Jewish. He was given the task of tattooing numbers onto his fellow victims' arm to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line, shaking with terror, was a young woman called Gita. For Lale - full of life, even in this place of death - it was love at first sight. And he was determined that not only would he survive, but that Gita would too.

Based on real events, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust.---from the publisher

304 pages                                      9781471408496                            Ages 14 and up

Keywords:  courage, love, world history, Holocaust, Jewish, hope, concentration camps, World War II, anti-Semitism, 14 year old, 15 year old, 16 year old, survival, European history

************

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov - an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for "tattooist"), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism - but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful recreation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.---from the publisher

User reviews

Have you read this book? We'd love to hear what you think. Click the button below to write your own review!