Mouse

A Book and a Hug

Content

Advanced search
5016 results found for you
 
0.0 (0)
Fantasy
219   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Title

Here and Now

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
If  you could have one shot at traveling back in time, where would  you go? If you had the audacity to try to change history, what is it that  youwould try to do? "I  start to stand up, but he... very sick, and he wasn't speaking clearly.  But I am sure of thedate.  I am sure it is the fork, and he knew it too.  If we miss it,  it's toolate.  There's no going back.' "'Well,'  I clear my throat....  I take a breath.  I try to sound calm,  evenpatronizing.  He is crazy, after all.  'If the guy died, you  don't have toworry about him murdering anybody.' "'He's  not dead yet,' the old man says,
Winger Hot
 
0.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
1328   0   1   0   0   1

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Winger

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
have I really got?That  love me, that want me, that'll take me as I am?"--  Pete Townshend (1975)"'You  know, nothing ever goes back exactly the way it was. Things justexpand and  contract. Like... the universe, like breathing. But you'll never fillyour lungs up  with the same air twice. Sometimes, it would be cool if youcould pause and  rewind and do over. But I think anyone would get tired ofthat after... YA read that will resonate with readers long after they have finished it. It is that rare book that speaks to all teens, male and female. Who doesn't love an underdog? And an underdog like Ryan Dean
11/22/63 Hot
 
1.0 (0)
Historical fiction
3208   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

11/22/63

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
it answered and many more questions it brought up. From the moment I began I was enthralled. Stephen, you have outdone even yourself! 11/22/63 is a watershed novel. It has everything a reader could want:...This is an open letter to Stephen King: Dear Stephen (I use your first name since you have been in my head for at least 25 years. I hope you don't mind): I now forgive you for Tommyknockers.... of 11/22/63: that through time travel one man could change a watershed moment in history and prevent the death of a beloved president. I couldn't put this novel down and kept thinking about the many questions
 
0.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
270   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Mister Max: The Book of Lost Things

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
not the only one.It's--it's a kind of contest, I think, a way of showing off, like...like talkingabout your marks on a test.'"Joachim  thought about this and decided, 'You can't take her back... what I'll do,'Joachim  offered, and for him, Max knew, it was a sacrifice.  'I'll give youlessons  for nothing, and that's as good as putting coins in your pocket.Pay me  back when you can.  If you ever... the sanctity of all  laws.  If abolitionistsclaim the  right to disobey laws that they dislike, then other groups arelikely to claim a  similar right.  In particular, lynch  mobs might claim thatthey have
 
1.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
284   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

P.S. Be Eleven

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
things gotta be.' "'Some things gotta change,' she said back. "They were talking to one another and not us. "'If you ask me,' Big Ma said, 'they ought to stick to teaching arithmetic in schools. ...   "She told me everything I wanted to know and too much.  It was too much.  I'd have to take it out one piece at a time to look at it. "She said, 'Did I leave because of a name?  You'd have... to be grown first before I explained. If I told you now, it would just be words.  She picked up her screwdriver and went back to working on her printer.  'Be eleven, Delphine.  Be eleven while you can.' "That
 
1.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
1385   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
Reluctant Reader
script.  You really come to like Greg and Earl and you forgive them their boy grossness and empty profanity.  They wear it and speak it as though it's all a normal part of young male armor and very... full potential.  He's also short-listed for young people most likely not to succeed.  You get it... the characters are vividly over the top and highly entertaining. Parts of the story read like a movie... on the wrong side of anyone. That way, no one will be targeting you. Earl is about the only friend Greg has and they don’t associate at school. Earl is a loner like Greg, but they have movies in common. In fact,
 
2.0 (0)
Fiction
4567   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

The One and Only Ivan

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
into that hole.' "'Of course you were,' I say. 'I would have been scared too.' "'Me too,' Bob admits. 'And I like holes.' "'The hole was huge.' Ruby pokes her trunk through the bars and makes a circle in the air.... 'And guess what?' She doesn't wait for an answer. 'The water was all the way up to my neck and I was sure I was going to die.' "I shudder. 'What happened then?' I ask. "'I'll tell you what happened,' Bob... says darkly. 'They captured her and put her in a box and shipped her off and here she is. Just like they did with Stella.' He pauses to scratch an ear. 'Humans. Rats have bigger hearts. Roaches have
 
0.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
532   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Title

Out of Nowhere

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
at http://BooksYALove.blogspot.com +++++ "I  like the shores of America! Comfort  is yours in America! Knobs  on the doors in America, Wall-to-wall  floors in America! --  L. Bernstein, S. Sondheim, (1956) "You've  got to wonder who... from the big cities like Atlanta where they’d been placed on first arrival in the US. Most of these new students spoke very little English so the school counselors are frazzled. Luckily, soccer has its... an instant dislike to Tom (everyone likes Tom, especially the girls).   Too bad that Tom went along with his lifelong pal Donnie on a prank where they were caught redhanded. Now it’s hours of community service
 
0.0 (0)
Non-Fiction
540   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion and the Fall of Imperial Russia

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
then the minimum wage is going to go up thesame.  If  that were the case, the minimum wage today would be about $22 anhour...So my  question is, what happened to the other $14.75?”--  Elizabeth Warren (2013) While...“Short,  with a neatly trimmed beard and large, soft blue eyes, Nicholashardly looked  like the imposing ruler of Russia.  And yet this unassuming manreigned  over 130 million subjects and one-sixth... a monarch like Tsar Nicholas IIwas,  underneath, just a run-of-the-mill person.  His only extraordinarycharacteristic was being born the first male offspring of a current or futuremonarch, entitling him,
 
0.0 (0)
Suspense / Thriller
516   0   1   0   0   1

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Crash (Visions, Book 1)

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
a great teen movie; are you listening, Hollywood? Highly, highly recommended grade 7-up. One long, romantic, steamy kiss, but prime time television features kisses like this one. Some light profanity...Does everyone see it?  When they look at the billboard along the road or turn on the television, do they see what Jules sees?  If they don't, then what is happening to her...why is she the only one?... to leave the house because you won’t be going anywhere once you open the pages of book 1 in this new thriller series! This unputdownable novel grabbed me from the first page. Two Italian immigrant families
 
0.0 (0)
Fiction
302   0   1   0   0   1

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Are You Experienced?

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
could say that you were part of the multitude who can't remember that weekend in Bethel NY. (Remember that old bumper sticker?: "If you remember Woodstock, you weren't there!!!") And besides.... That, in turn, prompts the question of how might today's society seek to mitigate those root causes of drug abuse through counseling, intervention, and other services."Someone like you makes it hard... to live without somebody elseSomeone like you makes it easy to give, never think about myself."-- "Reason to Believe" made famous by Rod Stewart but written by and performed at Woodstock by Tim Hardin, who
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Book
918   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Title

Can You Cuddle Like a Koala?

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
Wink like an owl, stretch like a tiger - can you, can you, can you do what each animal does? asks this bedtime board book, as each motion prepares little listeners to settle down to rest. Each animal... down. Also look for Butler's Can You Growl Like a Bear? board book for a sounds-oriented bedtime routine. Recommended by: Katy Manck, Librarian-at-Large (retired academic/corporate/school librarian),
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Book
938   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Title

Can You Growl Like a Bear?

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
Click like a dolphin and howl like a wolf - can you imitate the sounds the animals make as they come home to rest? This board book invites young listeners to provide their own soundtrack to a bedtime... questions wrap up by showing all the book's animals quietly sleeping. John Butler has also written and illustrated Can You Cuddle Like a Koala? board book which uses animal actions as a wind-down sequence
 
0.0 (0)
Science Fiction
443   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

When We Wake

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
is forced to make a tough decision to save Marie's life. I liked that each chapter name was a Beatles song like "Yesterday," "Revolver," and "The Ballad of John and Yoko" and that Ringo is Tegan's favorite... and even with sunscreen and full clothing, sunburning is likely.  Also, the world has adopted a ruthless standoff between third world countries and those that are thriving.  Australia has a strict “no... migrant” policy that leads all foreigners caught in their country to imprisonment.  Under strict military surveillance and warned not to speak to the press herself, Tegan has been told that she is part
 
0.0 (0)
Paranormal
543   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Sweetly

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
in the woods, but on closer inspection, it's an evil witch's face. Great cover appeal and the quote from Becca Fitzpatrick (Hush, Hush trilogy), "If you love your romance hot, your bad guys downright dirty,... in the woods, monsters that sound like the ones in her recurring nightmares about her twin's disappearance. Can Gretchen trust Samuel when folks in Live Oak say he's part of the trouble in the woods?... academic/corporate/school librarian), Gilmer, Texas, USA +++   Part fairy tale, part fantasy, part romance and part paranormal, girls will like this tale of a brother and two sisters who get lost in a forest.  Gretchen
 
0.0 (0)
Science Fiction
750   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Disunited States of America

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
to meet someone her own age when Justin visits the aunt and uncle she’s staying with. Justin is careful to speak like the locals, trying to blend in. Soon, they’re both glad that they met. Suddenly, people... readers to fascinating timelines that truly make you wonder… what if? Recommended by: Katy Manck, Librarian-at-Large (retired academic/corporate/school librarian), Gilmer, Texas, USA... is a crazy-quilt of big and little countries, and there are certainly no equal rights. If you weren’t white and male, you were powerless (except in Mississippi...strange, strange Mississippi). This alternate never
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Book
236   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Duck and Goose: Goose Needs a Hug

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
are involved, this is referred to as a group hug." -- Wikipedia definition   "Say the word and you'll be free Say the word and be like me" -- Lennon & McCartney   "The Word found The Beatles singing for the first... and I'll walk up to an author I haven't previously met and give him or her a big hug and get a vibe like I'm from another planet.  This can be a problem.   And so you have here the tale of Goose needing...   Now come on over here.   Let me give you a hug.    978-0-307-98293-3  22 pages   Richie Partington, MLISInstructor, San Jose State University, California USASchool of Library and Information Science 
 
0.0 (0)
Realistic Fiction
242   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Reading Level
Title

Spoils

Author
Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
crap.  Being rich is like being famous without the stalking paparizzi.  It means you're important and powerful.  Of course there's a better life.  Of course you're a happier person.  Duh." What would you..."Money, get away. Get a good job with good pay and you're okay. Money, it's a gas. Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash. New car, caviar, four star daydream, Think I'll buy me a football... do if you won millions of dollars? When we meet Leni Kohn, there is just over a week to go until she turns eighteen.  That's when her million-dollar trust fund will become available to her.  Leni's
 
0.0 (0)
Non-Fiction
335   0   1   0   0   0

Book Information

Title

President Has Been Shot

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
of things for me to do On my way home, I'll tell you a few I can watch a squirrel climb up a tree Or make a buzz like a bumblebee And that's what I might do today On my way home" -- Ken Whiteley, "My Way... Manor, right onto Sunrise, and walk halfway down the street to our house, number 33.   And nearly fifty years after the 22nd of November, 1963, I can still take you around the corner to Manor Street... by a light. I hit the brakes -- backed up slow, and Kennedy got in I said, 'It's nice to see you lookin' back in shape again. Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe they gunned you down' He just shook his head
 
0.0 (0)
Historical fiction
1059   0   1   0   0   1

Book Information

Title

Boy Who Dared

Illustrator
Fiction/Non-Fiction
changes. School changes. His rights and the rights of those around him disappear. No one speaks out. Silence is rampant. Then, one day, he decides to let his voice be heard, to speak the truth... Ages 12-16+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++Every librarian has fielded the query, "Where are your books like Anne Frank?" What the patron wants are books... to choose either "my country right or wrong" or remain true to his own convictions and conscience. If, after reading the above titles, interest remains, I also recommend the author's Hitler Youth:Growing Up

Left Column

What's New?

read around the world